The NCAA Basketball Tournament Selection Process determines the 68 schools that compete in the annual championship tournament. The Selection Process is done by a selection committee which first grants automatic entries to 31 teams. These 31 teams are the champions of their respective NCAA Division I conferences with the exception of the Ivy League which does not hold a championship game but instead awards this automatic entry to the team with the best conference record. [betnow] The remaining 37 teams that enter the tournament are selected by the NCAA sports committee and issued invitations, then seeded with the previous 31 teams and placed in brackets. These teams that receive invitations or at-large bids to the tournament are chosen by the committee taking into account the following factors: ranking in the national polls, conference record, wins versus ranked opponents, the way a team finishes the regular season and by the team’s Rating Percentage Index or RPI.